Super Easy Sort-of-Bargello Wonky Block Tutorial

I was looking at what I thought was the Modern Block of the Month for September over at Sew, Mama, Sew, but now I can’t find it. Anyway, whatever it was, it was the inspiration for this block. I saw it and didn’t really look at the instructions (and now I guess I can’t.) because I thought I knew how it was done. This didn’t really turn out like whatever it was I saw, but I still really like it. It’s really simple, it can be made really big so you can use one single block as a throw, or made really small. It’s a great introduction to improvisational piecing. (I found it.  I was right, I just didn’t click the right link. Anyway, this is what I saw http://sewmamasew.com/blog2/2011/08/modern-block-of-the-month-bom-sew-along-with-alissa-haight-carlton-2/

What you’ll need:

Cutting mat

Rotary cutter

Long ruler

Three pieces of fabric.

Sewing machine (duh)

1. Decide how big you want your block or blanket to be. If you want to do one big block, then cut your strips to how wide you want the blanket, and cut enough to make it as long as you want.

2. Cut! I made several blocks, so I just cut six strips of each color. Don’t worry about measuring, but you do need to make them straight.

3. Decide on your layout and sew your strips together

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Trim the edges

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Cut across the sewn strips. Cut however many you want and whatever size you want.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Flip every other strip

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Sew them back together!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Square it up by trimming all four sides and you’re good to go!

I did four of these in the space of a naptime. I’m a big fan. I’m going to have to do more to make a throw, then maybe make a few baby blankets out of one big block. It’s really fun, and depending on how you arrange the strips, really versatile.

1 Comment

September 8, 2011 · 3:50 pm

One response to “Super Easy Sort-of-Bargello Wonky Block Tutorial

  1. This is awesome!! I can’t wait to make my own! I’ll share photos on Facebook :)

Leave a Reply

