Know Thy Machine!

Hey hoppers! Welcome to my blog stop on 13woodhouseroad’s Know Thy Machine tour.

  1. What machine(s) do you have? Brand and Model.

I have a Brother CS5055PRW

  1. When and where did you buy it? What were the reasons for selecting this(these) particular model(s). What was its approximate cost.

    I actually received this machine as a ‘Just because’ gift from my mother about two years ago. I had been sewing on an older Brother that mom found at an estate sale for two dollars. I had all kinds of issues with it and mom saw this machine on sale for 100 dollars. When she showed up and told me she had a surprise to show me I actually thought she had brought over a puppy for me to meet. My mom’s just like that.

    I know she didn’t put much thought into buying the machine other than it was better than what I had and that it was inexpensive.

  1. What do you like about your machine? Have you named it? Have you made a cover for it?

    I can’t really think of anything special about my machine. It runs, it has fancy stitches that I don’t use, but I’ve learned a lot on it and it totally suits my needs for now. Oh! I do like that it has a drop in bobbin with INSTRUCTIONS on how to load it right on the machine. I can’t tell you how many times I got the bobbin on my old machine in wrong. I couldn’t tell where the thread went in the metal holder ( I know there’s a name for it…) or put the darn thing in backwards.

    My machine doesn’t have a name. Nothing I’ve thought of really fits.

    Yeaaah, about that cover I’ve been putting off for a year or so now… I do have one in the works, a ticker tape cover made with scraps. One of my many WIPs

  1. Does your machine give you any problems? Could you tell us a few?

    Only a couple of problems. The tension will sometimes get out of whack if I load a bobbin that’s too full or too empty. And lately it’s been winding the bobbins too loose, but that’s solved by me just holding onto the thread as it winds.

  1. What do you sew on it mainly? Quilts, Clothes, Bags etc. What are the features of the machine that help you improve your work? How much time do you spend sewing on it?

    I have done everything on this machine. I’ve made clothes for myself and my kids, I’ve made quite a few purses, I’ve done things with zippers, and my mom even comes over to use its button hole feature (She has a high end Pfaff.) The main thing I use it for is piecing and quilting quilts and pillows. I even taught myself how to free motion quilt on it! Since it’s a Project Runway machine it has a lot of garment making feet and the needle always ends in the down position, which was weird at first, but now it’s really handy.

    I try to sew a little every day, but that doesn’t always happen. On average I’d say I spend maybe five hours a week on it. More if I have something that really needs to be done, like a gift. I wish I could say more.

  1. What advice would you give others when deciding about which machine to buy?

    Ask someone else? I really don’t know too much about other machines. I would suggest they look at what they plan on using the machine for, what they’re willing to pay and read reviews.

  1. Will you share with us a special memory associated with your machine?

    The way I got it is pretty special.

  1. If you had unlimited resources in the world, which machine would you choose to buy and why?

    Well, based on the research I’ve done in the half hour since starting this post, I’d probably go for a heavy duty Juki with an extension table. I really wish I could quilt bigger quilts, but my machine is almost too small for even a baby quilt. I rarely use the stitches other than the straight and zig zag, so I don’t need a computerised machine.

My question to see if you’re paying attention is: What feature on my machine does my mom come over to use? Head over to 13 Woodhouse Road to answer and enter the giveaway.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Know Thy Machine!

  1. I was also gifted my machine. It has tension issues :)

    • I actually named this blog after my first machine. It had MAJOR tension issues. I’d call my mom constantly and she’d ask what was wrong and I’d almost always say, “I’m having tension issues.”

Leave a Reply

